A Hot Night at the Esplanade!

WHAT A NIGHT WITH THE SALSA PERFORMANCE TEAM (ACTFA) FROM XENBAR

Posing right before the performance

Don’t let the tube tops and the short shorts distract you! (I’m in the back on the right side)

A few days ago my dance school performed at the Esplanade’s Forecourt to kick start the “Da:ns Festival” with hot latin dance! We worked very hard over 2 months to put on 12 dances that evening. I danced in 2 dances – one Salsa and one Bachata. It was quite an experience for me because it was my first dance performance. The last 2 weeks was the most stressful because I had to learn a whole new dance choreography almost from scratch, and to perform it smoothly and technically correct.  I quite enjoyed the training so early into my Salsa dancing journey because it strengthened my basic technique and showmanship.

The performance itself was very nerve-wrecking! I didn’t mean to get nervous but I did. Even though I knew my steps inside and out, i forget 2 sets of moves (to the horror of my partner) during the performance because of nerves. Though I was able to get back quickly, I’m glad I went through that hick-up as it only made me more determined to get more performance experience so I can perform just like it was socially at a club (which I used to be terrified before!)

Salsa has really become the highlight of my day, everyday. I wake up excited to improve myself in Salsa. I know it’s a great way to meet woman, but that’s not really what makes it so enjoyable. The great part is improving slowly bit by bit and learning something new everyday.

I know my wise boss Adam Khoo once said that in order to be the best at something, you must be OBSESSED with it. I guess I found something I’m obsessed with. I do want to be the best at this. Not sure how good I want to get, but I guess making a name for myself would be a good start.

I should really thank the ACTFA and Xenbar (the place where I take lessons from) for teaching me and pushing me to improve, and most importantly of all, for giving me a platform for me to passion to good use.

It’s been great the last few months. I’ve really improved!

My next performances are in December! Stay tuned!

Dave

One thought on “A Hot Night at the Esplanade!

Leave a Reply

