Thinking Back: Part 2



This weekend a took a day leave to attend a conference attended by my church. Ok i have to admit, I’ve never actually gone to a religious conference before and my friend would be probably laughing at me if they found out I did, but yes I did, and I enjoyed it tremendously! Besides all the churchy things that happens on there (singing, praying, meeting people), I had another chance to look back on how I’ve been living my life the last few months here in Singapore…

So rarely do I get the opportunity to completely pull myself out of my work. Walking outside during break time and enjoying the cool breeze weave through the trees reminded me so much about the tranquility of my hometown, Victoria. At that moment I felt such a wave of joy soothing my exhausted body and mind. I felt the stress that I’ve been holding so long just wither away and what remained was a lighter (and bouncier) David!
When I looked back at the last few months I saw that it went by so fast. Yes, it was an exciting, enriching and exhausing period and there were many moments of achievement that I will never forget…yet at the same time they were just fleeting moments nothing substantial. Let’s take a look at my Values that drove me at that time (Sept 2006):

Towards Values (values I strive to be closer to)

  • Importance
  • Control and Purpose
  • Respect
  • Recognition
  • Satisfaction

And my Away From Values (what I want to avoid)

  • Being Inferior
  • Failure
  • Rejection
  • Embarrassment
  • Dissapointing others, and myseslf

I noticed now that it was a very self-centered value based system. I wanted to control all parts of my life. I felt that could manage everything perfectly to become a very successful and famous person. I was the Master!

But late last year I realized that wasn’t so true after all…I am not the Master after all…

Drum roll….(Dave gets super religious NOW)…God is the Master. And it makes so much sense (which i’ll explain in the future).

Last year was a Year of Transition, as a changed from Uni student to Full-Time employee. Times were tough, and the lessons were painful.

This year is the Year of Victory as I will achieve a new level of success in ALL areas in my life, and will become even closer to doing what I love.

The clock is ticking, the last year was just a warm. Bring it on!

3 thoughts on “Thinking Back: Part 2

  1. Matt says:

    I’m looking forward to the explanation.

    And what’s with all the colours?? It looks like the blog of an Asian girl. πŸ™‚ You just need to put more of these all over the place: ^_^ ^_^ ^_^ ^_^ ^_^

  2. Rachit says:

    Three quick things …

    1. YOU control your life amazingly well, from work to TM to a social life.

    2. You are important to your friends. Anyone who’s spent any time with you recognizes how much better you make US by being around and stopping us from just sitting down and RELAX

    3. You are superior… especially as a speaker and a coach, as I’ve seen you over the past year. AND more important you seem to ENJOY everything that you do.

    So, just follow the first command that comes to your mind and keep repeating that mantra … πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

