Can I rant? …Ok I am going to.

Have a become cynical of AIESECers? It’s election time here in AIESEC in Singapore, which only means one thing – election speeches. And upon hearing election speeches from the leadership candidates. Today I heard TWO kind of speeches: ‘The Good S#iT’ and the ‘Full of $hit’ speeches. Perhaps it’s my experiences in Toastmasters, and in the “grounded’ working world, but so many speeches in Aiesec are just full of empty promises and overused ideals (improving society, making more life-changing experiences). Yah i know Aiesecers can’t help talking like this, it’s in our organisation’s culture to talk this way; however, if one wants to really connect with an audience use stories of personal hardships. Stories illustrate points beautifully and eloquently.

And I have to rant about how in (in)efficient AIESEC is here in Singapore…(and in Canada a bit…and the globally of course) The formalities of elections (ie. speeches, and voting) of candidates all which ran unopposed took WAY WAY too long. Ok let me explain why I this annoys me.

  1. Time is Precious. Especially in the working world, every second is (hopefully) used efficiently…and we wish we had more of it…way more of it. To students (yes i can relate), time is something which is used without consideration for other non-students.
  2. A disrespect for keeping to the schedule. Ok from Toastmasters I’ve learned that if you start late because you’re waiting for people, is that it is very disrepectful for the guests who may have other plans after the meeting. In AIESEC, we never start nor end on time, this causes huge frustrations for me because it is inconsiderate and show unprofessionalism.

Why am i frustrated? Well, the fact the I’m using up so much energy for ranting is because I really care about AIESEC, even as an intern. I’m sure many other trainees share the same frustrations I do plus more, but we stay involved because we all believe that the young AIESECers will learn these life skills just like I have and still am.

Yes I agree that this frustration is not very useful, but if students realize this limitation how they run the organisation, then we’ll start seeing some real changes. Please change! I’m changing too!

Man, I’m getting old. But I’m still young and naughty. Hehe.

Rant Over. Stay tune for more inspirational posts soon as I prepare to write a motivationa/inspirational speech for Toastmasters….

3 thoughts on “

  1. Matt says:

    Hey Dave,

    No you’re not the only one that feels this way. I’ve really come to realize that AIESEC as an organisation and the people that make up the organisation don’t really value time. In a way it is the complete opposite of the business world.

    Business people often say that the easiest way to pay for something is with money. Compare that with AIESEC where so many people, myself included, give their time because money is valued so high. In business, it’s the reverse – time is valued over money. You can always create more money. You have a finite amount of time.

    I guess you’ve pointed out the reason why most AIESECers just have a life of a couple years – they start to see through the marketing after a while.

    Without a serious paradigm shift in thinking and systems AIESEC will remain the same for years to come. However, despite the flaws, AIESEC is what it is. It’s meant to be the start of a journey, not the destination. And for that, I think AIESEC is a great organisation.

    BTW, I like the blog layout you have. I read your posts via RSS feeds so this is the first time I’ve seen your layout.

  2. Matt says:

    Hey Dave,

    No you’re not the only one that feels this way. I’ve really come to realize that AIESEC as an organisation and the people that make up the organisation don’t really value time. In a way it is the complete opposite of the business world.

    Business people often say that the easiest way to pay for something is with money. Compare that with AIESEC where so many people, myself included, give their time because money is valued so high. In business, it’s the reverse – time is valued over money. You can always create more money. You have a finite amount of time.

    I guess you’ve pointed out the reason why most AIESECers just have a life of a couple years – they start to see through the marketing after a while.

    Without a serious paradigm shift in thinking and systems AIESEC will remain the same for years to come. However, despite the flaws, AIESEC is what it is. It’s meant to be the start of a journey, not the destination. And for that, I think AIESEC is a great organisation.

    BTW, I like the blog layout you have. I read your posts via RSS feeds so this is the first time I’ve seen your layout.

  3. Jess says:

    To both of you, I appreciate your comments, but I have to disagree with the time problem a little. I agree that it is frusterating and I for one would love to see everyone coming on time and ending on time. Having said that, however, I also feel that our ideas of needing to keep to a tight schedule are somewhat contructed. Why do we need to do that? Because we value time? Sure, I’d say it’s pretty safe to say that we do. But is it really so highly valued compared to other things? What about atmosphere and community, flexibility and inclusiveness. All of these things come it to play with regards to things like meetings. We wait for the late people because we don’t want to exclude them, we don’t want to suggest that we don’t value their presence. Waiting, of course, encourages a culture of lateness being acceptable, which is not what we want to do, but we have to consider the other values at play when we think about why such a culture has been created. Maybe these other values are more important to us that time? Maybe while we are still in university we have the luxury of not being so uptight about time 😉

Leave a Reply

