I’m walking home, groceries in one hand, umbrella in the other, and iPod tunes playing in my ears. It’s dark and pouring rain outside, yet I’ve never felt happier.

An earlier conversation with my manager is continuously playing in my head:

Des: “I’m planning a year end dinner for the corporate team, I want you to do a presentation (in front of all the bosses) on what you’ve learned in Corporate (training division). Our division has done very good in the last half year and I want to make you look good.”

Me: “Oh…wow…thanks!”

Wow did that totally make my year! I read an article in an HR magazine which the message was simply “Your job is to make your boss look good.” No this does not mean sucking up, or “brown nosing”. It has nothing to do with saying nice things to make ur boss look good. It’s about going beyond the call of duty and doing whatever it takes to make sure he/she delivers to the client. Sure I may be on the ground level but I feel responsible for the entire team’s success. So in turn, my boss looks good, then he’ll make me look good AND then i’ll feel good.

Logical right? Simple right? It is, but its hard to pull off. With long work hours, a humble salary, and mounting stress, it’s hard for one to think beyond his own cubicle. But it pays off.

I believe so.

Some of you wonder why I’m making such a big deal out this little conversation. I do because every little step counts in becoming a better person everyday. These little steps are a constant reminder that i’m going in the right direction.

Rock on!

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

